2016/2017学年第一学期

1. 北京大学暑期交流计划

郑裕彤书院于2015年11月与北京大学元培学院签订交换书院生协议书,自2015/16学年起郑裕彤书院与元培学院学生互访,双方各遴选10位院生至对方进行7夜8天的交换生活。选拔学生标准为其才艺。学生除了在对方学校了解学校的历史,去上课旁听,并学习当地的文化。2016年五月20至27日十位郑裕彤书院学生访问北京大学,由元培学院的学生伙伴带领去参访北京的文化胜处,并参加北大举办的音乐会、相声社等活动。2016年八月30日至九月6日 九位培学院的学生由副书记丁夕友带领来访郑裕彤书院,两校学生参加书院为他们举办的澳门博彩历史讲座,参访娱乐场 ,书院的电影赏析会,并参加高桌晚宴。两校学生并联合演出才艺表演,观众约二百五十人,澳大的董事会主席林金城和赵伟校长都有来观赏。

 

2. 钟玲院长主持的“如何写小说:基本功工作坊”

书院每年都会请知名的小说家来做驻院作家。为了培训书院同学写小说的初阶能力,钟玲院长于九月20日举办小说工作坊;教授同学基本技巧,十多位同学参加学习。钟院长出版的小说集包括《钟玲极短篇》(香港:汇智 );《生死冤家》(台北:洪范)、《天眼红尘》(北京:人民文学出版社)等。

 

3. 九位同学到香港中文大学参加「文理交织下的公允社群」

2016年十月10日与11日,钟玲院长带领书院九位学生,到香港参加一项教育交换计划。「文理交织下的公允社群」是由香港中文大学台湾研究中心主任熊秉真教授与台湾大学公共卫生学院联合主办。参与这项计划的包括12位中文大学、台湾大学、澳门大学的学者,10位台大的学生和9位澳大的学生。计划内容包括参访香港历史博物馆,参加一场以公共卫生与人文主义为主题的研讨会,有四位学者宣读论文,钟玲教授的论文为「香港重商主义下绽放的热情–谈两部电影」。下午由台大与澳大的同学发表学习成果。五位澳大学生发表「中西文化交流–澳门在十六世纪扮演的重要角 色」;另外四位澳大同学发表「健康生活:心理发展和忧郁症」。

 

4. 童燕珍前议员的沙龙讲座:“作为议员如何推动教育、文化、和妇女地位”

台湾高雄市童燕珍议员曾任高雄市四届市议员。她获高雄师范大学硕士学位,曾办过多间幼儿园。童议员任议员期间在教育发展上取得成就,并且清廉不贿选,深得市民喜爱与支持。十月12日在钟院长宿舍举办沙龙讲座,童议员细说自己的从政和选举的经过,和如何在政治圈维持个人的正直。她的女儿乐曲作词家黄婷也列席。

 

5. 台湾小说家甘耀明出任书院的驻院作家,主持小说工作坊和讲座

甘耀明十月26至31日任驻院作家,为台湾东华大学创作与英语文学所硕士。曾获台湾中国时报十大开卷好书奖、台北国际书展大展奖;<邦查女孩>获香港红楼梦文学奖决审团奖。在博雅学习日他的公开演讲《未竟之路-写小说教会我的几件事》吸引了80位师生同学。他主持三场工作坊,指导书院十一位小作家写作。

6. 大雅好声音歌唱比赛选出书院歌王和书院好声音

书院分别在十一月17日与24日举办大雅好声音的初赛和决赛。初赛有25位同学参赛,由钟院长、李副院长、吕老师、邓老师担任评审。初赛选出11位同学进入决赛,由学生事务处处处周桂慈主任、书院办公室主任骆进伟、2015年大雅歌王杨子涵同学 、澳大合唱团前团长郑泓怿同学担任评审。新出炉的2016歌王为殷实、好声音为李子轩、叶天宇,潜力奖刘诗文、David John Paul Pua以及人气奖吴旭铭。

 

7. 澳大长江学者徐杰谈“另类大选—本届美国大选的特点及其所折射的社会问题”

11月23日,本校中文系教授、本院资深导师徐杰,应本院由同学组成的图书馆委员会之邀请,在鹿鸣读书会中谈美国即将在2016年12月19日举办总统大选,其民主选举的特色和大选反映出来的美国社会问题。

 

8. 郑裕彤书院视听教室完工启用,放映并分析经典电影

施工一年的视听教室本学期初完工,书院组成电影放映工作小组,成员包括钟院长、黄素君教授、史唯博士、骆柱君老师、邓宇明博士、陈均濠先生、卫思成同学、卓建荣同学。每一部放映的电影一定随后有老师负责讨论和分析。本学期共放映五部影片:“七磅”(钟院长主持)、“声梦奇缘”(钟院长、王秉正博士、李丽青博士)、“空山灵雨”(钟院长)、“路边野餐”(史唯老师、卫思成同学)、“美梦成真”(金树人教授)。观众每次约20至50人。

 

9. 本学期举办两次高桌晚宴

第一次高桌晚宴在九月五日晚上举行,演讲嘉宾是程海东副校长,讲题为“追求卓越–团队合作” 。此次晚宴主要为了欢迎一年级新生、国际交换生和北大元培学院的三位老师与九位交换生。第二次高桌晚宴在十一月6日举行,演讲嘉宾是工商管理学院院长苏育州教授,讲题为“郑裕彤先生:从澳大四合一教育模式看领导与经商。”

Activities Organized in Cheng Yu Tung College in 2016/17 First Semester

1. Summer Exchange Program with Peking University

CYTC and Yuan Pei College, Peking University, signed an agreement of exchange program in November 2015, stating each party will select 10 students for exchange of  7 nights/8 days. The criterion for selection is talent in art. Students will live on campus, learn about the host-university, audit classes, and study local culture. On May 20 to 27, 2016, 10 CYTC students visited Peking University. Their partner students of Yuan Pei College took them to cultural spots in Beijing, and attended campus concerts and Chinese traditional talk show club, etc. From August 30 to September 6, 2016, teacher Ding Xiyou and nine students from Yuan Pei College visited UM. CYTC arranged a lecture on Macau’s casino history and industry, visits to local casino environment, a film screening followed by an in-depth discussion, and  attending our High Table Dinner. Students from both colleges performed a talent show, with an audience of 250, including UM Council Chairman Dr. Peter Lam, and Rector Wei Zhao.

 

2. Master Chung held a workshop on “How to Write Fiction: Some Basic Techniques”

Every year CYTC invites a famous novelist as Writer-in-Residence. In order to cultivate our students’ basic fictional writing technique, Master Chung Ling gave a fiction writing workshop on September 20. There are 10 students participated. Master Chung’ fictional publication includes Miniature Short Stories of Chung Ling (Hong Kong: Huizhi), Predestined Lovers (Taipei: Hong Fan), Eye of Heaven and Red Dust (Beijing: Renmin Wenxue Publisher), etc.

 

3. Nine students attended “A Fair Society of Arts and Sciences” in Chinese University of Hong Kong

On October 10 and 11, 2016, Master Chung took nine students to attend an educational exchange program in Hong Kong. “A Fair Society of Arts and Sciences” had been a symposium held yearly jointly by Professor Ping-chen Hsiung, Director of Taiwan Research Center, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and the College of Public Health of National Taiwan University. Participants include twelve scholars from Chinese University, Taiwan University, and Macau University, 10 students from Taiwan University and 9 students from Macau University. Contents of the program include a visit to Hong Kong Museum of History, and a symposium on Public Health and Humanities. Four research papers were presented, including Professor Chung Ling’ “Hong Kong People’s Passion in Pervading Commercialism: on Two Films”. In the afternoon, students presented reports. Five UM students presented “Cultural Communication between China and the West—the Important Role of Macau in the 16th Century” while four presented “Healthy Living: Psychological Development and Depression”.

 

4. Salon talk of Ms. Tong Yan-zhen “How I Promoted Education, Culture and Women’s Position as an Alderman”

Ms. Tong Yan-zhen has been an alderman of Kaohsiung City Council, Taiwan, for four terms. She received a Master degree from Kaohsiung Normal University, and has established several kindergartens. During her terms as alderman, she successfully promoted education, and she is known for her integrity and loved by people. On October 12 a salon talk was held at Master Chung’s quarter, in which Ms. Tong talked about how she maintained uncorrupt during the elections. Her daughter, Huang Ting, a lyric writer, also attended the salon.

 

5. Famous Taiwan novelist Kan Yao-ming serves as Writer-in-Residence, giving workshops and public talk

Mr. Kan Yao-ming served as our Writer-in-Residence from October 26 to 31. He received master degree in Graduate institute of Creative Writing and English Literature of Dong Hwa University, Taiwan.  He received Chinatimes Literature Award, and Book of Year of Taipei International Book Exhibition. His novel The Girl and the Woodcutter won the Jury Award in the 6th Dream of the Red Chamber Award, Hong Kong. He gave a public lecture on “The Road Not Taken–What I have learned from writing”, and attracted 80 audience. He held three fiction writing workshops, and instructed 11 CYTC student writers.

 

6. Daya Good Voice Singing Contest selected the champion and the good voices

The preliminary round of the contest was held on Nov. 17; the jury consists of Master Chung, Associate Master Lee, Ms. Lu, Dr. Tang and Antonio. They selected 11 singers from 25 candidates. The jury of the final consists of Miss Grace Chau of Student Affairs Office, Mr. Simon Lok, Functional Head of CYTC Office, student Yang Zi-han, Daya Champion 2016, and student Zheng Hong-ze, leader of UM Chorus. Among the 11 finalists, they selected the Champion, Yin Shi, two Good Voices, Li Zi-xuan and Yip Tin Yu, two New Voices, Liu Shi-wen and David John Paul Pua, and Popularity Prize winner Wu Xu-ming.

 

7. Professor Xu Jie’s talk on “A Different Kind of Presidential Election—American Election and the Social Issues it Reflects”

Professor Xu Jie is a renowned scholar in linguistics who won the title of Yangtze River Scholar and is a Senior Fellow of CYTC. On November 23, he was invited by the CYTC Library Committee which is organized and run totally by our students, to give a talk in the Deer Bleat Reading Club. He talked about the coming soon Election on December 19, 2016, on the features of American democracy and how it reflects their social problems.

 

8. Film Classics were screened and discussed in CYTC’s Audio-Visual Classroom after the completion of Construction

After the year-long construction of the Audio-Visual Classroom is finished, CYTC organized a Working Group of Cinema which consists of Master Chung, Professor Vong Sou Kuan, Dr. Shi Wei, Mr. Hugo Lok, Dr. Yuming Tang, Mr. Steven Chan, student Wei Sicheng, and student Cheok Kin Weng. After every screening always there is a discussion led by a teacher to analyze the film. Fiver films were screened in the semester: “Seven Pounds” (discussion led by Master Chung) ,”August Rush” (Master Chung, Dr. Wang Pingcheng and Dr. Victoria Lee), “Raining in the Mountain” (Master Chung), “Kaili Blues” (Dr. Shi Wei and student Wei Sicheng), and “What Dreams May Come” (Professor Jin Shuren).  For each screening, the number of audience ranges from 20 to 50.

 

9. Two High Table Dinners were held this semester

The first High Table Dinner was held on September 5, in which the Honorable Speaker was Vice Rector Haydn Chen speaking on “Pursuit of Excellence—Team Work.” This Dinner was held to welcome year one new students, exchange students, and the three teachers and nine students from Yuan Pei College, Peking University. The second High Table Dinner was held on November 6 and the Honorable Speaker was Dean Jacky So of the Faculty of Business Administration. He spoke on “Mr. Cheng Yu Tung: Reflection on Leadership and Business from the Angle of UM Four-in-One Education “.